Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) educates children from 2 to 5 years of age.  At Braeside Lavington, the daily teacher-initiated and child-led activities inculcate values, knowledge and skills embedded within the EYFS Effective Practice.

Play is at the centre of the curriculum, which is based on six areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Mathematical Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

These areas of development are assessed through targets prescribed by the ‘EYFS Development Matters’ document.  Children develop their skills at different rates and the targets direct their learning so that they are fully prepared for the next phase of their education as they enter Year 1.

Qualified members of staff at the EYFS foster warm interactive relationships with children, positively impacting their learning experience.  Parents are actively involved in the learning journey of their children and are encouraged to interact with the EYFS staff to provide opportunities in all areas of learning.

Learning at Braeside’s EYFS ensures that children’s experiences are stimulating, enjoyable and relevant.  The curriculum is delivered using a thematic approach which encompasses the six areas of learning over a time span of half a term.  Subsequent themes may introduce new concepts or build on existing knowledge.

BTEC Level 3
Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music
Association of International Schools in Africa
Council of British International Schools
Independent Schools Inspectorate
Council of British International Schools (Compliance Member)
Kenyan International Schools Association
GL Education Assessment Excellence
Cambridge International Examinations