The Primary Curriculum is divided into Key Stage 1 and 2, to provide age appropriate levels of education.  Through a differentiated educational programme, variances in abilities and curriculum exposure are addressed.  If required, additional support can be offered through our Additional Support Department.

The Key Stage 1 curriculum builds on the skills students have developed in the Early Years Foundation Stage.  This learning development continues into Key Stage 2 which ends at Year 6.

The content covered in individual subjects is derived from stipulated Programmes of Study which encompasses:

  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Science
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical Education and Swimming

Other curriculum subjects offered include:

  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education
  • Religious Education
  • French as a Modern Foreign Language
  • Kiswahili

Assessment at Braeside Lavington is continuous, clarifying what each child should know, understand and do in a lesson.  It also encourages children to review what they have learnt and the next steps in their learning, utilising a range of strategies. Data from the assessment is used to celebrate children’s achievements, identify areas of development and inform planning for the school as a whole.  Assessment is carried out through target setting, project work, written assessments and homework assignments.

BTEC Level 3
Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music
Association of International Schools in Africa
Council of British International Schools
Independent Schools Inspectorate
Council of British International Schools (Compliance Member)
Kenyan International Schools Association
GL Education Assessment Excellence
Cambridge International Examinations